TIMES A-CHANGIN’ (APPOLOGIES TO BOB DYLAN)

Get Bob Dylan on and sing-a-long to my version of ‘The Times They Are A-Changing’. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrIPQxrog8M

REMEMBER THE 90S WHEN THE WEB WAS NEW?
YOU MADE UP A NAME BY WHICH FOLKS WOULD KNOW YOU
AND YOUR INTERNET HANDLE IT JUST GREW AND GREW
AND YOU SAW YOUR FORMER LIFE FADING.

WELL YOU’D BETTER BE READY TO HAVE IT BACK NOW,
‘CAUSE THE TIMES THEY ARE A-CHANGING.

YOUR PSEUDONYM GREW TO BE STRONGER THAN STEEL
AND YOUR SEXY-ASS AVVIE HAD LOTS OF APPEAL
BUT MARK ZUCKERBERG DON’T WANT SOMEONE UNREAL
IN THE BOUNDARY FACEBOOK’S CONSTRAINED IN

THEY WANT YOUR IDENTITY SIGNED IN YOUR BLOOD,
OH THE TIMES THEY ARE A-CHANGIN’

IN CYBERSPACE, BABY, YOU WERE ONE OF US,
ACCEPTED IN MUDS WITH THE MINIMUM FUSS,
BUT THAT’S NOT HOW THEY DO THINGS
DOWN AT GOOGLE PLUS
YOUR IDENTITY HAD BETTER BE PAID IN

DUMP YOUR INTERNET HANDLE BEFORE YOU COME IN,
FOR THE TIMES THEY ARE A-CHANGIN’

NOW SECOND LIFE STANDS IN THE OCEAN ALONE
AND THE DIGITAL PEOPLE THEY HIDE IN THEIR HOME
WITH PITCHFORKS AND TORCHES AUGMENTISTS HAVE SHOWN
JUST WHAT THEY THINK OF US FAKIN’

NOW THEIR STRINGIN’ THEM UP BY THEIR DIGITAL NECKS,
YES THE TIMES THEY ARE A CHANGIN’!


This entry was posted in fun stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to TIMES A-CHANGIN’ (APPOLOGIES TO BOB DYLAN)

  1. Aw Extie. I’m glad you’re alive and kicking, and writing poetry as well :)

    Your words are so true… and unfortunately also so sad!!

  2. Robert B says:

    You do realize that the children in those videos became cannon fodder, or became hardened adults…..The order remains…….The times, we must be a changing.

  3. You know that I fully support the right to be pseudonymous on the net, and the right to hide your name, age, gender, location etc. As you say, this is what things were done in the 90s.

    But Facebook and Google are businesses. They must make money. You and I don’t pay them a cent. They make money with targeted ads. They want to know your age, gender, and location because this info is useful to target ads. They want to know your name because they wish to use it to correlate the info in their databases with info from other sources. I doubt they give a damn about the name on your passport, but they want to know the name on your credit card, which is usually the same.

    In the 90s we were a few thousands of Internet users, and we earned the right to our free Internet by using, recommending it to others, even writing code and running web servers. Some did a little, and others did a lot. Instead of complaining against a ugly world we tried to build a beautiful one. isn’t is that TIMES A-CHANGIN’ because we sheeple are too lazy to take things into our hands? Freedom cannot be given. Only taken.

    What Facebook and Google choose to doo with their money is not our business. But we have open source, P2P, distributed alternative like Diaspora built by-the-people and for-the-people, where nobody would (or could) question your right to be pseudonymous and disclose only the info that you want to disclose, or none at all. Instead of complaining against Google and Facebook why don’t you support Diaspora? if you have the skills you can contribute to the codebase, if you have some money you can support them financially, and if you have neither you can… just USE Diaspora: since the growth rate of a social network is exponential, you can contribute just by using it.

    I wish one percent of the energy that is being used to complain about Google of Facebook could be channeled to supporting Diaspora. It would start growing very fast.

  4. There is a simple answer to the question ‘why don’t support Diaspora?': I had never heard of it. Google+, on the other hand, was getting mentioned a lot on New World Notes and my Facebook contacts seemed to be moving away from FB to join Google+. The day I accepted an invite to join Google+ was the day it was revealed it is prejudiced against digital people like myself. Possibly, had I known this before joining up, I would not have bothered.

    But Google is not all bad. In fact, I am about to use its amazing search engine to find out more about ‘Diaspora’.

  5. See my article
    Join the free Diaspora and build YOUR mindfile

    http://spacecollective.org/giulio/6893/Join-the-free-Diaspora-and-build-YOUR-mindfile

    I can invite you to open an account at joindiaspora.com. This is the server run by the Diaspora dev team, it is not the only one because Diaspora is decentralized and distributed, see other servers (“pods”) in the article.

  6. I understand the impulse to complain and whine, but believe me fighting back is better. When asked to kiss ass, best we can do is to kick ass.

  7. Robert B says:

    i will sign my identity in my blood. There is something, somehow, someway, greater than my blood.

  8. >They want to know your age, gender, and location because this info is useful to target ads. They want to know your name because they wish to use it to correlate the info in their databases with info from other sources.I doubt they give a damn about the name on your passport, but they want to know the name on your credit card, which is usually the same.<

    No problem. If Google+ want credit card details and promise to keep such information in the strictest confidence, I have no problem with that. But from what I can gather, Google+ want to share my primary's personal information with the world and tie that identity to me. Sorry, but that is not acceptable.

  9. Why not just treat me as if I were an actual person and build up a profile of what might interest me from the comments I post, the links I follow, the searches I conduct and the contacts I make? From what I understand, datamining is quite good at inferring age, gender and location. So why not have Google’s computing resources build up a profile of me and assign me a unique ID? Why should I have to publicly broadcast my primary’s personal information?

Leave a Reply

